All Articles

My 2018 year in Review

I have always read Ire’s yearly Review, which motivate me to share mine. Here’s the recap of my own 2018.

2018 image

2018 began when I decided to give the so called “New year Resolution” a try, wasn’t a huge fan of it thou. So on the 5th of January, I was in my home town with my Sister and right there I made the best decision of my life by following the snapshot above.

Personal Challenge

This year i publicly engaged in a challenge known as #100DaysOfCode without any form of guidance, i started randomly to improve my javascript skill, as time goes on i found myself going full time front end development, so i embrace FreeCodeCamp in accomplishing this. On the mid way of this journey things got interested as i enroll for other challenges i saw online

  1. Javascript30 by Wes Bos
  2. Cs50 by David j. Malan
  3. Rapid Web Dev (Favcode) by favour Ori

I found the #javaScript30 helpful as it relate to the javascript skill i intend improving on and as well as the cs50 for problem solving. I completed the Favcode program which emphasis on the html, css and basic JS skill with helpful resources such as udemy course and w3school.

During the course of the 100DaysOfCode challenge i also registered for a remote internship (HngInternship 4.0) organized by hotels.ng. The experience was indeed great

  • As I got exposed to using figma for the first time
  • I as well learnt collaborating with others via git and github as i experience a lot of merge conflict.
  • Learnt some php and mySqli skills
  • and lastly some other tools such as TeamViewer.

Although i got disable at stage 4, but the interesting part of it all was that they bring out the best in me and made me see reasons for improvement

Projects

This year i built a lot of project in the course of my learning few which are listed below.

#100DaysOfCode

#JavaScript30

Working with Api

  • Random Quote Generator: This is a project i did out of learning ajax and materialize (CSS framework).
  • Github Search App: This is my first ES6 project. where i learnt babel configuration and so on.
  • Wikipedia Viewer: This project was inspired by freeCodeCamp front end task.
  • Twitch App: This project is also a task from FreeCodeCamp.

React

  • React Todo-List: This was my very first react application after learning the basis in react.
  • React Clicker: This is a project that increment, decrement and reshuffle count on click
  • Temperature Calculator: This is a project that calculate temperature and performs conversion when water boils.

Writing

As part of the new year resolution, I started out documenting and It has been awesome, my first article was “Why is JavaScript seen been executed asynchronously which it isn’t?” which got quite an helpful comment by Stephen Curtis on facebook as to improve. which I then implemented in the second article “The thing with JavaScript function and the new keyword”. So far I have been able to put up 4 article on medium, thou this wasn’t the plan but i’m happy I started.

Reading

I planned on reading 20 books this year, but wasn’t able to achieve this and i don’t have any genus reasons for this thou. but i hope to do better next year

Speaking

If you would asked me I doubt this section of my plan because I do think that tech speakers are genius like extremely “good”. but to my surprise I got an opportunity for this when I was in school to speak at an event for WTMAba by Osumgba Kindness chiamaka but due to my seminar defense scheduled for that every day I declined the offer.

Life

Fresh graduate — Computer Engineering(MOUAU)

I’m grateful to God for the gift of life and for seeing me through this phase of my life, It hasn’t been easy as there were countless times I have been cashless, the thought of my project and accommodation finance made me nurse the feeling that I might not push through but God responded in his own way, saying he aren’t done with me yet, friends that turn family gave me hope, they assisted me when I needed It the most, pardon me to say “they carried my matter for their head” and I’m forever loyal to those unnamed friends God bless you guys.

Recognition

I got feature this year at techmeetupsng.com “Will a computer engineering degree prepare me for a career in tech? — by Pecuilar Ediomo-Abasi.

New Friend

I met Segebee at Devfest GdgLagos where we spoke about our stack, and then i chipped in the fact that i was job hunting, and he has been helpful on that note. It was a pleasure haven met you

Haven encountered the interesting and fun aspect of 2018, i also had an experience i can never forget. i was defrauded by my neighbour which i entrust my ATM card to around April or so. the experience wasn’t funny at all but everything was sorted out

What About 2019?

I’m really excited for the new year, I have a lot of great things planned. Here are some of my goals:

  1. Personal Development: I’d Like to continue on this path, so my next 100DaysOfCode will be on the Christmas gift daniel bought for me known as The complete Web Developer in 2019: Zero to Mastery. then continue on the path of react and redux.
  2. Writing: I’d like to do more on this either technically or some other form.
  3. Speaking: Next year i want to invade in this space, i don’t know how but i’m ready to give it a try.
  4. Open Source Contribution: I’d like to tap into this.
  5. Reading: Just as 2018, I intend doing this very well, by reading 20 books that are not programming related

Cheers to a better and Fun-filled 2019, Season greetings everyone…